Thursday, February 2, 2012

State Banking Bill to be Heard in Committee on Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2012

THIS IS REALLY IMPORTANT!!!!!
HB 2104, a bill to establish the Bank of Arizona, will be heard in committee on Tuesday, Feb. 7th. 
In our IOT meeting on Saturday, we will discuss the bill and our next steps. 
MEANWHILE
it is imperative for us to send emails to the committee members
The legislators most emphatically do NOT want one letter sent by all concerned people, so I cannot offer you a text to cut and paste. 
What I can offer you is below.  In it you will see:
1. a directory of the Employment and Regulatory Committee
2. a list of their emails
3. a list of bullet points (running onto a second page).
Please choose 4 or 5 bullet points and/or anything else you want to say and compose your email letter. 
Then send a copy of your letter to each representative on the committee. 
I don't think this endeavor will take too much time and it should be well repaid. 
Many thanks in advance,
Richard
Employment and Regulatory Affairs
 House of Representatives Standing Committee
  Members Position
Eddie Farnsworth Member 
John Fillmore Vice-Chairman
Sally Ann Gonzales Member 
John Kavanagh Member 
Justin Olson Member
Lynne Pancrazi Member
 Daniel Patterson Member
  Bob Robson Chairman
  Kimberly Yee Member

Email Addresses:

Farnsworth = efarnsworth@azleg.gov  R
Fillmore = jfillmore@azleg.gov  R
Gonzales = sgonzales@asleg.gov  D
 Kavanagh = jkavanagh@azleg.gov  R
 Olson = jolson@azleg.gov   R
Pancrazi = lpancrazi@azleg.gov  Lead Democrat
Patterson = dpatterson@azleg.gov  D
Robson = brobson@azleg.gov  
R Yee = kyee@azleg.gov   R

Choose 4 or 5 points for your letter:

* A public bank is NOT socialism.  Socialism entails public ownership of all banks and thus the receipt of all profits.

* A public bank is wise, efficient stewardship of public resources.

* A public bank is the economic driver needed now because our financial situation is dire and received wisdom is not helping to ameliorate it.  

* A public bank can invest in the state, keeping capital within Arizona and assuring Arizona’s development.

* A public bank is more like a mini-Fed than a bank on the street corner.

* Public banking works best in partnership with private banks.  The Bank of North Dakota partners with over 100 local banks. 

* Capitalizing a public bank will NOT cost the taxpayer anything.

* A public bank can help individuals seeking small business loans, local governments, research for future state development such as alternative energy, agriculture, education, access to higher education, and even parks and Arizona heritage sites.

* Other states are considering creating public banks:  ID, VT, NH, and WA are making progress in this direction right now!

* Since 1945, the Bank of North Dakota has transferred $555 million in profits to the state general fund.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment